© 2024 Iowa Public Radio
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Award-Winning Journalism

Iowa Public Radio produces hundreds of news stories and talk shows every year. From hard-hitting stories that affect your every day to lighter fare that celebrates life in our state. Every year, a number of these stories — and the reporters, hosts and producers that produce them — are recognized for their excellence in journalism by statewide, regional and national organizations.








Eric Sevareid Awards

Presented annually by the Midwest Broadcast Journalists Association, the Sevareid Awards honor the best journalism across radio, TV and online. IPR won first prize twice in 2024 and five awards overall.


Online Journalism Awards

The OJAs are presented annually by the Online News Association, recognizing excellence in journalism across mediums and industries. Iowa Public Radio earned top honors in "Excellence in Newletters" for its portfolio of newsletters meeting a variety of audience needs and interests.

Public Media Journalists Association Awards

Talk of Iowa earned a second-place finish nationally in the annual PMJA awards for “A frank conversation about preventing youth suicide,” which included interviews with parents breaking the silence of their child's struggles and mental health experts from the University of Iowa.

Eric Sevareid Awards

The Eric Sevareid Awards are presented by the Midwest Broadcast Journalists Association, recognizing the best journalism in the Midwest. IPR received eight Eric Sevareid Awards in 2023, recognizing news coverage and talk show content in large market radio.

Iowa Broadcast News Association Best of 2023

The Iowa Broadcast News Association recognizes the best newscasts and sportscasts each year in radio and TV broadcasts. In 2023, IPR took home six awards in large market radio.


Edward R. Murrow Awards

IPR Reporter Kate Payne received a prestigious regional Murrow Award for her continuing coverage of the derecho that hit Iowa in 2020.

Eric Sevareid Awards

IPR failed to crack the top of the list in 2021, but came close across several categories, racking up seven awards of merit in the annual MBJA awards.


Edward R. Murrow Awards

The Radio Television Digital News Association awarded Iowa Public Radio with two Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards in 2020, including the first-ever award for a podcast:


Eric Sevareid Awards

River to River and two Iowa Public Radio reporters were recognized in the annual Eric Sevareid Awards from the Midwest Broadcast Journalists Association.

Iowa Broadcast News Association Best of 2019

The news team earned first-place honors for a series on education, along with awards for three other stories written by IPR reporters.


Eric Sevareid Awards

Iowa Public Radio's news and talk teams earned five Eric Sevareid Awards in 2018, including two first prizes.

Iowa Broadcast News Association Best of 2018

Iowa Public Radio's whole news team was honored with IBNA awards for radio broadcasts in 2018.

Public Radio News Directors Incorporated Awards

Talk of Iowa won first place for Charity Nebbe's interview with Amber Causey, an Army veteran and survivor of human trafficking. The interview was named the best among all local public radio stations across the nation.


Edward R. Murrow Awards

Sarah Boden won a regional Murrow Award for "Iowa Supreme Court to Consider Challenge to Felon Voting Law." Murrow Awards are among the most prestigious in news. They are presented annually by the Radio Television Digital News Association to recognize outstanding local and national news stories in broadcast and digital journalism.

Eric Sevareid Awards

IPR reporters earned three merit awards at the annual Midwest Broadcast Journalists Association ceremony:

Iowa Broadcast News Association Best of 2017

Iowa Public Radio's entire news team, as well as individual reporters, took home four IBNA awards:

  • First Place, In-Depth/Investigative Reporting: Three-part series on water quality issues by Clay Masters
  • First Place, Feature Reporting:Video Game Places Player in a Cancer Drama” by John Pemble
  • Second Place, Farm/Agriculture Reporting:Planting season is a high-stakes bet” by Amy Mayer
  • Second Place, Political Coverage: Ongoing coverage of the 2016 Iowa Caucuses, presidential campaigns and election night by IPR News team


Eric Sevareid Awards

Four IPR reporters earned three merit awards in the annual MBJA showcase:


Edward R. Murrow Awards

Iowa Public Radio was honored with two Murrow Awards — one each for talk and news:


Edward R. Murrow Awards

Joyce Russell won a 2014 Murrow Award for her story, "HUD Claims Housing Discrimination in Dubuque," which examined race relations and discrimination against the Black community in low-income housing.

Eric Sevareid Awards

IPR received six Eric Sevareid Awards in 2014, including two first-place finishes. Both Talk of Iowa and River to River were honored, in addition to several IPR reporters.

Jack Shelley Award

All Things Considered host and reporter Pat Blank was awarded the Jack Shelley Award by the Iowa Broadcast News Association. The highest individual honor given by the organization, the Jack Shelley Award is given annually to the person with a record of achievement in broadcast journalism in Iowa.

Public Radio News Directors Incorporated Awards

IPR's news and talk teams scored two second-place finishes in the annual PRNDI Awards, which recognize the best of local public radio news in a wide array of categories.


Edward R. Murrow Awards

Iowa Public Radio won two regional Murrow Awards in 2013. Both news and talk teams earned honors:

Eric Sevareid Awards

2013 was a big year for IPR at the annual MBJA awards. The news and talk teams took home six awards of merit and one first-place finish.


Edward R. Murrow Awards

2012 was a banner year for Iowa Public Radio, where six stories were recognized with one of the top honors in news: a Murrow Award:

  • Audio Feature Reporting: "Fish Farming as Alternative Agriculture" and "Wadena Rocks at 40"
  • Audio Investigative Reporting: "Iowa laws make robocalls cheap, easy, anonymous and legal"
  • Audio News Series: "Being Muslim in Iowa"
  • Audio Sports Reporting: "Women Wrestlers"
  • Use of Sound: "Audio Letters from Vietnam" by Rick Fredericksen

Public Radio News Directors Incorporated Awards

The success continued for IPR at the annual PRNDI Awards, where four stories were recognized for their excellence:

  • Second Place, Call-In Program: "The Exchange: Stuttering and The King's Speech"
  • Second Place, Continuing Coverage: "Missouri River Flooding"
  • Second Place, Newscast: 7:30 a.m. December 14th newscast
  • Second Place, Soft Feature: "The Low Pheasant Population Hurts More than Hunters"


Edward R. Murrow Awards

IPR earned a coveted Murrow Award in continuing coverage for the story, "The Day the Music Died."


Public Radio News Directors Incorporated Awards

"The Exchange: Karl Rove Visits Iowa City" won second place for call-in programs in the 2009 edition of the PRNDI Awards.