© 2023 Iowa Public Radio
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Iowa Public Radio Among 2021 Regional Edward R. Murrow Award Winners


DES MOINES, Iowa (May 6, 2021) – Iowa Public Radio (IPR) is pleased to announce that The Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA) has awarded IPR with one Regional Edward R. Murrow Award.

IPR's award is in the continuing coverage category, for Kate Payne's reporting on the aftermath of last summer’s derecho in Iowa. Payne's winning stories include:

The RTDNA Edward R. Murrow Awards are among the most prestigious in broadcast and digital news. The RTDNA has been honoring outstanding achievements in electronic journalism with the Edward R. Murrow Awards since 1971. Award recipients demonstrate the spirit of excellence that Murrow set as a standard for the profession of broadcast and digital journalism. Regional Murrow Awards are presented to small and large radio, television and digital outlets based on 14 geographic regions. Regional winners are automatically considered for a National award.

Gretchen Kasperbauer is IPR's Marketing Manager