© 2022 Iowa Public Radio
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
IPR News

People In Iowa's Flood-Damaged Counties Get More Time To Apply For Federal Assistance

Katie Peikes
IPR file
Flooding seen in Mills County in April.

People in nine flood-impacted counties across Iowa now have until mid-July to register for federal help to recover from flooding, Gov. Kim Reynolds announced Monday.
According to a news release, the Federal Emergency Management Agency granted the state’s request to give people affected by this spring’s flooding and severe weather more time to register and apply for federal help.

People now have until July 16. The deadline was previously July 1.

Registering with FEMA can give homeowners and renters access to grants to repair their flood-damaged home or pay for temporary housing. 

Ways people can register with FEMA:

People also have until July 16 to apply for loans through the Small Business Administration.