© 2022 Iowa Public Radio
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

President Trump Approves Iowa Governor's Flood Relief Request

Katie Peikes/Iowa Public Radio
Flooding in Hornick, Iowa seen on March 17.

Iowa Gov. Kim Reynolds announced Saturday that President Trump has approved a Presidential Major Disaster Declaration for more than half of Iowa's counties affected by major flooding.

The declaration allows homeowners, businesses, cities and counties to get federal assistance for emergency and permanent fixes to property or infrastructure that was damaged by major flooding.

In a news release, the governor called the declaration “instrumental” to recovery.

“We are incredibly grateful for the President's consistent and timely action in the face of disaster,” Reynolds said. “The road to recovery will be long, but it's clear that Iowans will have the resources we need to rebuild.”

People in five counties along the Missouri River will be able to apply for aid through the Federal Emergency Management Agency’s Individual Assistance Program. Those counties include Fremont, Harrison, Mills, Monona and Woodbury.

The program helps people in ways that include money for temporary housing assistance and damage repairs and providing grants for dental and medical needs.

President Trump also approved Nebraska’s disaster declaration request for federal funding to recover from flooding.

Katie Peikes is IPR's agriculture reporter