Featured Release This Week From Jim James + Tracks Top 30 Playlist

Aug 6, 2018

Jim James is the frontman of the band My Morning Jacket, plus he's been involved in interesting collaborations like Monsters Of Folk and The New Basement Tapes.  As a solo artist, he's been releasing EPs and studio albums since 2009.  James is best known as a songwriter, vocalist and guitarist, but he's a multi-instrumentalist and producer as well.  He plays a lot of guitar on his new album, Uniform Distortion.  Like many artists these days, Jim James is finding inspiration in the current cultural climate, as he explains:  "I feel like there is this blanket distortion on society/media and the way we gather our 'news' and important information...and more and more of us are feeling lost and looking for new ways out of this distortion and back to the truth."  

Here are the Top 30 new releases played on Studio One Tracks for the week ending Aug. 5, 2018:

1    Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever- Hope Downs

2    Dirty Projectors- Lamp Lit Prose

3    Gorillaz- The Now Now

4    The Jayhawks- Back Roads And Abandoned Motels

5    Jim James- Uniform Distortion

6    Courtney Barnett- Tell Me How You Really Feel

7    Let's Eat Grandma- I'm All Ears

8    Melody's Echo Chamber- Bon Voyage

9    Ty Segall & White Fence- Joy

10  Natalie Prass- The Future And The Past

11  Lake Street Dive- Free Yourself Up

12  Father John Misty- God's Favorite Customer

13  Snail Mail- Lush

14  Johnny Marr- Call The Comet

15  Beach House- 7

16  Shannon Shaw- Shannon In Nashville

17  Angelique Kidjo- Remain In Light

18  Peach Kelli Pop- Gentle Leader

19  Hannah Gill- Lost In Words (EP)

20  Neko Case- Hell-On

21  The Record Company- All Of This Life

22  Cowboy Junkies- All That Reckoning

23  Arthur Buck- Arthur Buck

24  Dawes- Passwords

25  Hatchie- Sugar & Spice (EP)

26  La Luz- Floating Features

27  Ray LaMontagne- Part Of The Light

28  Astronomique- Sharp Divide

29  Speedy Ortiz- Twerp Verse

30  Eleanor Friedberger- Rebound