© 2022 Iowa Public Radio
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Iowa Sends Two Incumbents Back to Washington

Amy Mayer/IPR file photo
Republican Steve King will return to Congress for another term, after again defeating a Democratic challenger. He's pictured here in Ames during his 2012 campaign.

The incumbent candidates in Iowa’s second and fourth Congressional Districts will return to the U.S. House of Representatives.

Democrat Dave Loebsack of Iowa City won against Republican Dr. Mariannette Miller-Meeks of Ottumwa. This is the third time Miller-Meeks has challenged Loebsack, who will return to Congress for a fifth term.

In his victory speech, Loebsack said he’ll keep working for the middle class, not forget where he came from, and work across the aisle.

“I’m going to work with anyone who wants to work with me,” he said, “to make sure we’re going to keep this economic recovery.”

In northwest Iowa, Republican Rep. Steve King of Kiron won a seventh term in Congress. He defeated Democrat Jim Mowrer, an Iraq War veteran from Boone.

King told supports in Sioux City, “The results of this campaign provide a clear mandate for conservative salutation, while also showing voters soundly rejecting the disastrous policies set by President Obama and the dishonesty of the liberal left.”  

Republicans Rod Blum and David Young will join King and Loebsack in the U.S. House. Both won tight races in open seats in the first and third Congressional District respectively.

Because Republican Joni Ernst beat Democrat Bruce Braley in the race for U.S. Senate, Loebsack will be the only Democrat to represent Iowa in Congress.  

Julie Englander is the local host of IPR's Weekend Edition