Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

2013 World Food Prize

John Pemble
The 2013 World Food Prize laureates (from the right) Robert T. Fraley, Marc Van Montagu and Mary-Dell Chilton in Iowa Public Radio's Des Moines studio.

The 2013 World Food Prize is honoring Marc Van Montagu, Mary-Dell Chilton, and Robert T. Fraley, three scientists whose individual discoveries led to the creation of genetically modified crops. 

By 2012, GMO’s were grown on more than 170 million hectares around the globe by 17.3 million farmers, but they remain controversial.  Host Ben Kieffer speaks with the laureates about their scientific work and its critics. 

Ben Kieffer is the host of IPR's River to River
Katherine Perkins is IPR's Program Director for News and Talk