Featured Release This Week From Wye Oak + Studio One Tracks Top 30 Playlist

Apr 23, 2018

In a nice bit of synchronicity, Wye Oak's new album The Louder I Call, The Faster It Runs was released on the same day that the band played The Mission Creek Festival in Iowa City this month.  Since their self-released debut in 2007, the duo from Baltimore have sent a new full-length record into the world every couple of years or so.  That debut album was impressive enough to gain re-release on Merge Records, and Wye Oak have been with that well-respected indie label ever since.  Beginning with a folk-influenced sound eleven years ago, Jenn Wasner (lead vocals, guitars, bass) and Andy Stack (drums, keyboards, backing vocals) have a more electronic indie rock sound these days.

Here are the Top 30 new releases played on Studio One Tracks for the week ending April 22, 2018:

1    The Decemberists- I'll Be Your Girl

2    Ben Harper & Charlie Musselwhite- No Mercy In This Land

3    Wye Oak- The Louder I Call, The Faster It Runs

4    Jack White- Boarding House Reach

5    Yo La Tengo- There's A Riot Going On

6    Frankie Cosmos- Vessel

7    King Tuff- The Other

8    Courtney Marie Andrews- May Your Kindness Remain

9    Nathaniel Rateliff & The Night Sweats- Tearing At The Seams

10   Superorganism- Superorganism

11   Erika Wennerstrom- Sweet Unknown

12   Eels- The Deconstruction

13   Kississippi- Sunset Blush

14   Brazilian Girls- Let's Make Love

15   Albert Hammond Jr.- Francis Trouble

16   Unknown Mortal Orchestra- Sex & Food

17   Hop Along- Bark Your Head Off, Dog

18   Guided By Voices- Space Gun

19   David Byrne- American Utopia

20   Preoccupations- New Material

21   Belle & Sebastian- How To Solve Our Human Problems

22   Alison Wonderland- Awake

23   Laura Veirs- The Lookout

24   Soccer Mommy- Clean

25   The Breeders- All Nerve

26   Bettye LaVette- Things Have Changed

27   Ought- Room Inside The World

28   Dessa- Chime

29   Caroline Rose- Loner

30   Goat Girl- Goat Girl