Featured Release This Week From Okkervil River + Studio One Tracks Top 30 Playlist

May 29, 2018

Okkervil River is a river in St. Petersburg.  The Russian author Tatyana Tolstaya wrote a short story with the river as its setting, and that was the inspiration for the name of the band that formed in Austin, Texas twenty years ago.  Singer-songwriter Will Sheff leads Okkervil River, and remains as the only original member of the band.  Sheff's voice as a vocalist, and as a writer, defines the group's sound.  For its ninth album, In The Rainbow Room, Okkervil River deliver indie rock that rocks, lopes and glides.  As Sheff stated upon the album's release, "I wanted to make a record where a sense of kindness felt encoded into the music." 

Here are the Top 30 new releases played on Studio One Tracks for the week ending May 27, 2018:

1    King Tuff- The Other

2    Beach House- 7

3    Arctic Monkeys- Tranquility Base Hotel + Casino

4    Courtney Barnett- Tell Me How You Really Feel

5    Okkervil River- In The Rainbow Rain

6    Lake Street Dive- Free Yourself Up

7    Shakey Graves- Can't Wake Up

8    Dr. Dog- Critical Equation

9    Speedy Ortiz- Twerp Verse

10   Maps And Atlases- Lightlessness Is Nothing New

11   Parquet Courts- Wide Awake!

12   La Luz- Floating Features

13   Middle Kids- Lost Friends

14   Now. Now- Saved

15   Brazilian Girls- Let's Make Love

16   Unknown Mortal Orchestra- Sex & Food

17   Eleanor Friedberger- Rebound

18   Frankie Cosmos- Vessel

19   Rainbow Kitten Surprise- How to:  Friend, Love, Freefall

20   Ziggy Marley- Rebellion Rises

21   Father John Misty- God's Favorite Customer

22   Wye Oak- The Louder I Call, The Faster It Runs

23   The Voidz- Virtue

24   The Decemberists- I'll Be Your Girl

25   Neil Young + Promise Of The Real- Paradox (Original Soundtrack)

26   Damien Jurado- The Horizon Just Laughed

27   Horse Feathers- Appreciation

28   Lord Huron- Vide Noir

29   Anemone- Baby Only You & I (EP)

30   Chris Stills- Don't Be Afraid