Featured Release This Week From Oh Sees + Tracks Top 30 Playlist

Aug 27, 2018

The 21st Oh Sees album is not a breakup record.  Well, maybe it is if headbanging riffs and mythological sci-fi lyrics provide the catharsis for a broken relationship.  The album title Smote Reverser and the cover art tell you this is a project inspired by heavy metal.  The music (with those mythological sci-fi lyrics) is metal-leaning prog rock.  The San Francisco-based Oh Sees began in 1997 as a vehicle for the music of John Dwyer, and Dwyer has been experimenting with different varieties of psychedelic and garage rock ever since.  There have been band lineup changes and the band name itself has morphed over the years, always around the letters OCS.  For many years we knew them as Thee Oh Sees.  Since last year it's simply Oh Sees.

Here are the Top 30 new album releases played on Studio One Tracks for the week ending Aug. 26, 2018:

1    Snail Mail- Lush

2    Oh Sees- Smote Reverser

3    Mitski- Be The Cowboy

4    Rubblebucket- Sun Machine

5    Dirty Projectors- Lamp Lit Prose

6    Death Cab For Cutie- Thank You For Today

7    Still Corners- Slow Air

8    Ty Segall & White Fence- Joy

9    Thin Lips- Chosen Family

10   Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever- Hope Downs

11   Spider Bags- Someday Everything Will Be Fine

12   White Denim- Performance

13   Flasher- Constant Image

14   Father John Misty- God's Favorite Customer

15   The Happy Fits- Concentrate

16   Jenn Champion- Single Rider

17   The Love Language- Baby Grand

18   Neko Case- Hell-On

19   Courtney Barnett- Tell Me How You Really Feel

20   Arctic Monkeys- Tranquility Base Hotel + Casino

21   Beach House- 7

22   Cordovas- That Santa Fe Channel

23   Lucero- Among The Ghosts

24   Michael Nau- Michael Nau & The Mighty Thread

25   Let's Eat Grandma- I'm All Ears

26   Melody's Echo Chamber- Bon Voyage

27   Kevin Gordon- Tilt And Shine

28   Free Cake For Every Creature- The Bluest Star

29   Shemekia Copeland- America's Child

30   Lake Street Dive- Free Yourself Up