Featured Release This Week From Neko Case + Studio One Tracks Top 30 Playlist

Jul 9, 2018

Virginia-born singer-songwriter Neko Case has been releasing solo records for over twenty years.  In fact, her solo career predates Case's membership in The New Pornographers.  She's also done other projects, including her 2016 album with Laura Veirs and k.d. lang.  For her new album, Hell-On, Case was involved in the writing of nearly all the songs, and co-produced the record.  Neko Case's calling card is most likely her voice.  As she stated for the release of Hell-On:  "My style is odd, I don't know what genre this is.  I don't have a pretty voice or a trained voice...and for all its loud, heavy-handed, nasal, vibrato-less qualities I accept it." 

Here are the Top 30 new releases played on Studio One Tracks for the week ending July 8, 2018:

1    Father John Misty- God's Favorite Customer

2    Dawes- Passwords

3    Arthur Buck- Arthur Buck 

4    Neko Case- Hell-On

5    Johnny Marr- Call The Comet

6    Fascinator- Water Sign

7    Jim James- Uniform Distortion

8    Melody's Echo Chamber- Bon Voyage

9    Shannon Shaw- Shannon In Nashville

10   Dr. Dog- Critical Equation

11  Parquet Courts- Wide Awake!

12   Gorillaz- The Now Now

13   Courtney Barnett- Tell Me How You Really Feel

14   Arctic Monkeys- Tranquility Base Hotel + Casino

15   Snail Mail- Lush

16   Angelique Kidjo- Remain In Light

17   Natalie Prass- The Future And The Past

18   Peach Kelli Pop- Gentle Leader

19   Cowboy Junkies- All That Reckoning

20   Kevin Gordon- Tilt And Shine

21   Lake Street Dive- Free Yourself Up

22   Beach House- 7

23   Protomartyr- Consolation (EP)

24   Okkervil River- In The Rainbow Rain

25   Middle Kids- Lost Friends

26   Red Baraat- Sound The People

27   Brazilian Girls- Let's Make Love

28   Makeness- Loud Patterns

29   Hop Along- Bark Your Head Off, Dog

30   Horse Feathers- Appreciation