Featured Release This Week From Gorillaz + Studio One Tracks Top 30 Playlist

Jul 23, 2018

The Now Now is the quick followup to last year's Humanz from the virtual (i.e. cartoon) band Gorillaz.  As I mentioned a little over a year ago, when Humanz was a Studio One Featured Release, Gorillaz is the most successful cartoon band ever.  Why does that matter?  It adds a unique dimension to the band's music because of the space between Damon Albarn and the other band members, and the characters created by Jamie Hewlett.  After the apocalyptic Humanz, the darkness has lifted for The Now Now- as you can see in the video for "Humility."  

Here are the Top 30 new releases played on Studio One Tracks for the week ending July 22, 2018:

1    Johnny Marr- Call The Comet

2    Gorillaz- The Now Now

3    Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever- Hope Downs

4    Jim James- Uniform Distortion

5    Dawes- Passwords

6    Courtney Barnett- Tell Me How You Really Feel

7    Father John Misty- God's Favorite Customer

8    The Jayhawks- Back Roads And Abandoned Motels

9    Arthur Buck- Arthur Buck

10  King Tuff- The Other

11  Neko Case- Hell-On

12  Parquet Courts- Wide Awake!

13  Lake Street Dive- Free Yourself Up

14  Cowboy Junkies- All That Reckoning

15  Beach House- 7

16  Luluc- Sculptor

17  Snail Mail- Lush

18  Melody's Echo Chamber- Bon Voyage

19  Hatchie- Sugar & Spice (EP)

20  Arctic Monkeys- Tranquility Base Hotel + Casino

21  Stephen Malkmus & The Jicks- Sparkle Hard

22  Mourn- Sopresa Familia

23  Angelique Kidjo- Remain In Light

24  Natalie Prass- The Future And The Past

25  Unknown Mortal Orchestra- Sex & Food

26  Jenn Champion- Single Rider

27  T. Hardy Morris- Dude, The Obscure

28  Ziggy Marley- Rebellion Rises

29  Shannon Shaw- Shannon In Nashville

30  The Record Company- All Of This Life