Featured Release This Week From Arctic Monkeys + Studio One Tracks Top 30 Playlist

Jun 18, 2018

Arctic Monkeys formed in Sheffield, England in 2002.  The band has been very successful in their native country, but most definitely do not want to rest on their laurels.  For album number six, Tranquility Base Hotel + Casino, frontman Alex Turner wrote the songs on piano rather than guitar, with the result being a kind of "lounge pop" sound.  Lyrically, Turner was inspired by science fiction.  The kind of science fiction that comments on our current world and culture while it spins it's speculative tales.  

Here are the Top 30 new releases played on Studio One Tracks for the week ending June 17, 2018:

1    Lake Street Dive- Free Yourself Up

2    Courtney Barnett- Tell Me How You Really Feel

3    Father John Misty- God's Favorite Customer

4    Stephen Malkmus & The Jicks- Sparkle Hard

5    Neko Case- Hell-On

6    Arctic Monkeys- Tranquility Base Hotel + Casino

7    Parquet Courts- Wide Awake!

8    Beach House- 7

9    Natalie Prass- The Future And The Past

10  Shakey Graves- Can't Wake Up

11  Okkervil River- In The Rainbow Rain

12  Speedy Ortiz- Twerp Verse

13  Shannon Shaw- Shannon In Nashville

14  Michael Rault- It's A New Day Tonight

15  Maps And Atlases- Lightlessness Is Nothing New

16  La Luz- Floating Features

17  Erika Wennerstrom- Sweet Unknown

18  Eleanor Friedberger- Rebound

19  Hatchie- Sugar & Spice (EP)

20  Snail Mail- Lush

21  Unknown Mortal Orchestra- Sex & Food

22  Angelique Kidjo- Remain In Light


24  Jeffrey Foucault- Blood Brothers

25  Now. Now- Saved

26  Wye Oak- The Louder I Call, The Faster It Runs

27  Dear Rouge- Phases

28  Caroline Says- No Fool Like An Old Fool

29  Twin Shadow- Caer

30  Neil Young- Roxy:  Tonight's The Night Live