Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Big Thief's Hushed Intensity + Tracks Top 30 Playlist

Brooklyn, New York based Big Thief recorded their third album "U.F.O.F." in rural western Washington.  The band set up in a large cabin-like room at Bear Creek Studios.  It's the kind of environment that seems an integral part of the recordings that make up the new record.

Big Thief's first album came out almost exactly three years ago.  They audaciously named their debut "Masterpiece."  Based on the critical acclaim Big Thief received for that album, and the buzz created among fans, "Masterpiece" was totally justified.

Adrianne Lenker is the captivating lead vocalist in Big Thief, and she wrote all the songs on "U.F.O.F."  including the title track, a farewell to a U.F.O. friend.  "Making friends with the unknown...All my songs are about this," says Lenker via the band's record label.    

Here are the Top 30 new album releases played on Studio One Tracks for the week ending June 2, 2019:

1    Vampire Weekend- "Father Of The Bride"

2    Foxygen- "Seeing Other People"

3    Big Thief- "U.F.O.F."

4    The National- "I Am Easy To Find"

5    Cate Le Bon- "Reward"

6    Mavis Staples- "We Get By"

7    Local Natives- "Violet Street"

8    The Get Up Kids- "Problems"

9    Mac DeMarco- "Here Comes The Cowboy"

10   King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard- "Fishing For Fishies"

11   Jade Bird- "Jade Bird"

12   Jamila Woods- "LEGACY! LEGACY!"

13   Jenny Lewis- "On The Line"

14   Weyes Blood- "Titanic Rising"

15   Nilufer Yanya- "Miss Universe"

16   Karen O & Danger Mouse- "Lux Prima"

17   Diane Coffee- "Internet Arms"

18   Bailen- "Thrilled To Be Here"

19   Fontaines D.C.- "Dogrel"

20   Bibio- "Ribbons"

21   Shovels & Rope- "By Blood"

22   Avey Tare- "Cows On Hourglass Pond"

23   Catfish & The Bottlemen- "The Balance"

24   Middle Kids- "New Songs For Old Problems" 

25   Black Mountain- "Destroyer"

26   Com Truise- "Persuasion System"

27   Dressy Bessy- "Fast Faster Disaster"

28   Julia Jacklin- "Crushing"

29   Mexico City Blondes- "Blush"

30   Stella Donnelly- "Beware Of The Dogs"

Mark Simmet is a Senior Producer and Studio One Host