Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Featured Release This Week From Karen O And Danger Mouse + Tracks Top 30 Playlist


Karen O is a powerful (both visually and sonically) vocalist, and she has fronted the band Yeah Yeah Yeahs since 2000.  She has also done solo projects and collaborated with some interesting people, gravitating toward the artier side of indie rock.  Brian Burton (aka Danger Mouse) has been a part of Gnarls Barkley, Broken Bells and Danger Doom, and has worked with many others as a respected producer, musician and songwriter.  Karen O and Danger Mouse met in 2007, discussed working together, and finally got serious about it in 2015.  The project has come to fruition with the new album "Lux Prima."  Last month, "Lux Prima" was announced to the world in a big way, when Spike Jonze directed a live music video of the single "Woman".  

Here are the Top 30 new album releases played on Studio One Tracks for the week ending April 7, 2019:

1    Julia Jacklin- "Crushing"

2    Karen O and Danger Mouse- "Lux Prima"

3    Better Oblivion Community Center- "Better Oblivion Community Center"

4    Andrew Bird- "My Finest Work Yet"

5    Son Volt- "Union"

6    Strand Of Oaks- "Eraserland"

7    Stephen Malkmus- "Groove Denied"

8    Weyes Blood- "Titanic Rising"

9    Jenny Lewis- "On The Line"

10   Avey Tare- "Cows On Hourglass Pond"

11   Cherry Glazerr- "Stuffed & Ready"

12   Adia Victoria- "Silences"

13   Ex Hex- "It's Real"

14   Girlpool- "What Chaos Is Imaginary"

15   Pedro The Lion- "Phoenix"

16   Delicate Steve- "Till I Burn Up"

17   Juliana Hatfield- "Weird"

18   American Football- "American Football" (LP 3)

19   Anemone- "Beat My Distance"

20   Yola- "Walk Through Fire"

21   Stella Donnelly- "Beware Of The Dogs"

22   Maggie Rogers- "Heard It In A Past Life"

23   The Claypool Lennon Delirium- "South Of Reality"

24   Sharon Van Etten- "Remind Me Tomorrow"

25   Telekinesis- "Effluxion"

26   Ibibio Sound Machine- "Doko Mien"

27   Meat Puppets- "Dusty Notes"

28   And The Kids- "When This Life Is Over"

29   Fruit Bats & Vetiver- "In Real Life (Live At Spacebomb Studios)"

30   Beirut- "Gallipoli"

Clay Masters is Iowa Public Radio’s Morning Edition host and lead political reporter.