Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Featured Release This Week From Julia Jacklin + Tracks Top 30 Playlist

Julia Jacklin wears her heart on her sleeve all through the ten tracks on "Crushing", her second full-length album.  Sure, that's a cliche, but it's such a fitting way to describe the Australian artist's approach to her songs, and why they are so compelling.  Jacklin writes about heartbreak and infatuation, and as her record company explains, she keeps "her storytelling centered on bodies and crossed boundries and smothering closeness."  Plus, Julia Jacklin has a wonderful voice to deliver the intimate indie pop songs she writes.    


Here are the Top 30 new album releases played on Studio One Tracks for the week ending March 31, 2019:

1    Better Oblivion Community Center- "Better Oblivion Community Center"

2    Julia Jacklin- "Crushing"

3    Karen O & Danger Mouse- "Lux Prima"

4    Andrew Bird- "My Finest Work Yet"

5    Son Volt- "Union"

6    Strand Of Oaks- "Eraserland"

7    Ex Hex- "It's Real"

8    American Football- "American Football" (LP3)

9    Avey Tare- "Cows On Hourglass Pond"

10   Telekinesis- "Effluxion"

11   Daniel Romano- "Finally Free"

12   Cass McCombs- "Tip Of The Sphere"

13   Sharon Van Etten- "Remind Me Tomorrow"

14   Girlpool- "What Chaos Is Imaginary"

15   Anemone- "Beat My Distance"

16   Deerhunter- "Why Hasn't Everything Already Disappeared?"

17   Yola- "Walk Through Fire"

18   Adia Victoria- "Silences"

19   Stephen Malkmus- "Groove Denied"

20   Mercury Rev- "Bobbie Gentry's The Delta Sweete Revisited"

21   Jessica Pratt- "Quiet Signs"

22   Y La Bamba- "Mujeres"

23   The Claypool Lennon Delirium- "South Of Reality"

24   Cochemea- "All My Relations"

25   Lucy Rose- "No Words Left"

26   Nov3l- "Novel" (EP)

27   Bad Bad Hats- "Lightning Round"

28   Citizen Cope- "Heroin And Helicopters"

29   Ibibio Sound Machine- "Doko Mien"

30   Tedeschi Trucks Band- "Signs"   

Clay Masters is the senior politics reporter for MPR News.