Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Featured Release This Week From Mitski + Tracks Top 30 Playlist


The Japanese-American songwriter, vocalist and musician Mitski Miyawaki self-released her first two albums while a student at the Purchase College (part of the State University of New York system) Conservatory of Music.  She signed to a label for her third album, and soon began attracting critical acclaim.  That acclaim has continued right up to her latest full-length, Be The Cowboy.  The carefully crafted songs on the new record were all written by Mitski, and performed almost entirely by the artist and her producer.  Mitski explains the album's title:  "There was this artist I really loved who used to have such a cowboy swagger....With a lot of the romantic infatuations I've had, when I look back, I wonder, did I want them or did I want to be them?  Did I love them or did I want to absorb whatever power they had?  I decided I could just be my own cowboy."    

Here are the Top 30 new album releases played on Studio One Tracks for the week ending Sept. 9, 2018:

1    Death Cab For Cutie- Thank You For Today

2    Rubblebucket- Sun Machine

3    Mitski- Be The Cowboy

4    Oh Sees- Smote Reverser

5    Wild Nothing- Indigo

6    Ty Segall & White Fence- Joy

7    DeVotchKa- The Night Falls Forever

8    Iron & Wine- Weed Garden (EP)

9    Gringo Star- Back To The City

10   Shannon Shaw- Shannon In Nashville

11   The Smithereens- Covers

12   White Denim- Performance

13   Dirty Projectors- Lamp Lit Prose

14   Lucero- Among The Ghosts

15   Mass Gothic- I've Tortured You Long Enough

16   Melody's Echo Chamber- Bon Voyage

17   Jim James- Uniform Distortion

18   Kevin Gordon- Tilt And Shine

19   Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever- Hope Downs

20   The Kooks- Let's Go Sunshine

21   Circles Around The Sun- Let It Wander

22   Free Cake For Every Creature- The Bluest Star

23   Hana Vu- How Many Times Have You Driven By (EP)

24   Nothing- Dance On The Blacktop

25   Neko Case- Hell-On

26   Flasher- Constant Image

27   The Beths- Future Me Hates Me

28   Still Corners- Slow Air

29   Phantastic Ferniture- Phantastic Ferniture

30   Underworld & Iggy Pop- Teatime Dub Encounters (EP)

Mark Simmet is a Senior Producer and Studio One Host