Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

CD of the Week from The River Monks

Graham Gardner

The Des Moines-based band The River Monks formed in 2010 with founding members Ryan Stier, Nicholas Frampton and Joel Gettys.  Current members also include Drew Rauch, Mallory Heggen and Tommy Boynton.  Their second album, Home Is The House could aptly be summed up by a phrase they have used to describe their sound:  "wistful harmonious megafolk."  The River Monks combine beautiful vocal harmonies, intriguing songwriting and creative use of traditional folk instrumentation on the new album.

Mark Simmet is a Senior Producer and Studio One Host