© 2024 Iowa Public Radio
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Head Of African Development Bank Named 2017 World Food Prize Laureate

2017 World Food Prize Laureate Akinwumi Adesina

The current president of the African Development Bank has been named the 2017 World Food Prize Laureate. Akinwumi Adesina of Nigeria is the 46th person to receive the award, which has been called the Nobel Prize for food and agriculture. 

World Food Prize President Kenneth Quinn says Adesina’s work in African agriculture has expanded food production, thwarted corruption and increased the availability of credit to farmers.

"His receiving the World Food Prize will give impetus in the coming decade to his profound vision for enhancing nutrition, eliminating childhood stunting, uplifting smallholder farmers, empowering women, and inspiring the next generation of young Africans," says Quinn.

Adesina will be honored in October during the annual World Food Prize Symposium in Des Moines, where the organization is headquartered.

The prize comes with a $250,000 award.