© 2023 Iowa Public Radio
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Ghosty: 'Big Surrender'

Ghosty's debut album is <em>Grow Up or Sleep In</em>.
Ghosty's debut album is Grow Up or Sleep In.

Indie rock band Ghosty hails from Lawrence, Ks. Lead vocalist and principal songwriter Andrew Connor began putting the group together in 1999 with drummer Richard Gintowt, while the two were students at the University of Kansas. They say they were drawn together, in part, over their mutual love of Wilco, Pavement, The Flaming Lips and Bob Dylan.

Now in the sixth year of what they call "intense dedication" Ghosty writes folk-tinged, artful and introspective songs. Their debut album Grow Up or Sleep In was recorded with Lincoln, Neb. based producer Mike Mogis (Bright Eyes, Cursive), and Oklahoma-based producer Trent Bell, who'd worked with The Flaming Lips. The Flaming Lips' Wayne Coyne also agreed to play on the new Ghosty album when he overheard the band recording in studio with Bell.

The current Ghosty lineup includes Andrew Connor on guitar and lead vocals, drummer Josh Adams, keyboardist David Wetzel, bassist Mike Nolte and guitarist Jeff Ferrell.

Seth Sherwood of the New York Times noted in a February 2005 article that "It may only be rock 'n' roll, but Ghosty and other young bands are playing it with such virtuosity that Lawrence, Ks. is now perhaps the most vital music scene between Chicago and Denver."

Copyright 2022 NPR. To see more, visit https://www.npr.org.

Mike Katzif