Tchaikovsky’s Iconic “Swan Lake”

Feb 15, 2018

This week’s Symphonies of Iowa features the Des Moines Symphony’s “Masterworks 2: Tchaikovsky’s Swan Lake” concert. The orchestra performs works by Wagner, Richard Strauss, and Tchaikovsky.

Tchaikovsky’s Swan Lake contains some of the most recognizable music ever composed. It beautifully tells a tale of star-crossed lovers through elegant, sweeping melodies. But first, the Orchestra plays Wagner’s mythic, shimmering Overture to Tannhäuser followed by a dazzling performance of Richard Strauss’s Death and Transfiguration, his celestial, sublime tone poem meditating on the furious struggle between life and death.  Don’t miss the broadcast this Sunday, February 18th at 4 p.m. and again on Monday, February 19th at 7 p.m.!


WAGNER             Overture to Tannhäuser

R. STRAUSS         Death and Transfiguration

TCHAIKOVSKY   Music from Swan Lake

I.                     Introduction to Act I

II.                   Valse (Act I)

III.                 Scene (Act II)

IV.                Death of the Swans (Act II)

V.                  Pas de Action (Act II)

VI.                Allegro giusto (Act III)

VII.               Neapolitan Dance (Act III)

VIII.             Mazurka (Act III)

IX.                 Finale (Act IV)