Featured Release This Week From Gorillaz + Studio One Tracks Top 30 Playlist

Jun 5, 2017

British musician and songwriter Damon Albarn (of the U.K. band Blur) started Gorillaz in 1998, in collaboration with comic book artist Jamie Hewlett.  Gorillaz is a cartoon, or virtual band.  Albarn and his crew write, play and sing the music behind the facade of the characters he and Hewlett created.   The 2001 debut album Gorillaz sold over seven million copies, and the group officially became the most successful virtual band ever- outselling other virtual bands like The Archies and Alvin & the Chipmunks.  Albarn and Hewlett had a falling out in 2012, and that seemed to be the end of  their project.  They resolved their differences, and now we have the fifth Gorillaz full-length album, the apocalyptic party record Humanz.  

Here are the Top 30 releases played on Studio One Tracks as of June 4:

1  The Mountain Goats- Goths

2  Kevin Morby- City Music

3  Land Of Talk- Life After Youth

4  Hoops- Routines

5  Benjamin Booker- Witness

6  Gorillaz- Humanz

7  Pokey LaFarge- Manic Revelations

8  Sylvan Esso- What Now

9  Mac DeMarco- This Old Dog

10 Nick Cave and The Bad Seeds- Lovely Creatures:  The Best of Nick Cave and The Bad Seeds

11 Nite Jewel- Real High

12 San Fermin- Belong

13 Wavves- You're Welcome

14 (Sandy) Alex G- Rocket

15 Son Volt- Notes Of Blue

16 Thurston Moore- Rock N Roll Consciousness

17 Slowdive- Slowdive

18 Future Islands- The Far Field

19 Marika Hackman- I'm Not Your Man

20 Day Wave- The Days We Had

21 Ani Difranco- Binary

22 Blond Ambition- Slow All Over

23 Hazel English- Just Give In/Never Going Home

24 Blondie- Pollinator

25 The Courtneys- The Courtneys II

26 Erasure- World Be Gone

27 The National- "The System Only Dreams In Total Darkness" single

28 Fleet Foxes- "Fool's Errand" single

29 Woods- Love Is Love

30 Girlpool- Powerplant