Featured Release This Week From Broken Social Scene + Studio One Tracks Top 30 Playlist

Aug 14, 2017

Broken Social Scene is a true musical collective, with as many as nineteen members involved in any given project or performance.  Kevin Drew and Brendan Canning formed Broken Social Scene in Toronto in 1999.  Most of the other members (such as Leslie Feist, Jason Collett, and Emily Haines) have their own separate groups and projects.  With so many different players and instruments involved, the group's orchestrated and sometimes experimental music has at times been categorized as baroque pop.  Explaining the title of Broken Social Scene's seventh album, Hug Of Thunder, Kevin Drew said- "That is our show.  We're trying to create that hug of thunder.  That sound.  That embrace amongst the chaos."      

Here are the Top 30 releases played on Studio One Tracks for the week ending Aug. 13, 2017:

1   Toro Y Moi- Boo Boo

2   Benjamin Gibbard- Bandwagonesque

3   Arcade Fire- Everything Now

4   Broken Social Scene- Hug Of Thunder

5   Waxahatchee- Out In The Storm

6   Haim- Something To Tell You

7   Guided By Voices- How Do You Spell Heaven?

8   Bleachers- Gone Now

9   Japanese Breakfast- Soft Sounds From Another Planet

10  The Drums- Abysmal Thoughts

11  Portugal. The Man- Woodstock

12  Oh Wonder- Ultralife

13  Washed Out- Mister Mellow

14  Twinsmith- Stay Cool

15  Offa Rex- The Queen Of Hearts

16  Matt Pond PA- Still Summer

17  Dan Croll- Emerging Adulthood

18  Radiohead- OK Computer OKNOTOK 1997 2017

19  Big Thief- Capacity

20  Jason Isbell & The 400 Unit- The Nashville Sound

21  Konrad- Artbreak

22  King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard- Murder Of The Universe

23  Aldous Harding- Party

24  Lilly Hiatt- Trinity Lane

25  Harts- Smoke Fire Hope Desire

26  Jessica Hernandez & The Deltas- Telephone

27  Cody ChesnuTT- My Love Divine Degree

28  The War On Drugs- A Deeper Understanding

29  Com Truise- Iteration

30  Paul Kelly- Life Is Fine