Disaster Proclamation for Benton, Humboldt, Wright Counties

Jul 18, 2016

Gov. Terry Branstad has issued a disaster proclamation for Benton, Humboldt and Wright counties.

The three counties requested the aid after recent severe weather, saying the demands of the disaster response exceeded local resources.

Humboldt and Wright County both needed assistance with debris removal,” says spokeswoman Stefanie Bond of the Iowa Department of Homeland Security and emergency Management. “They were provided with some personnel and equipment like dump trucks to help move some of that out of the way. There were a lot of downed trees and power lines in those two counties.”

Additionally, Wright County along with Benton requested assistance through the state’s individual assistance program.

This program provides up to $5,000 to affected families whose income is no more than twice the federal poverty level.  This money can go to home or car repairs, to replacing food and clothing, or for temporary housing assistance.