Des Moines Symphony Kicks off New Season of Symphonies of Iowa with "Firebird"

Jan 17, 2015

Join Iowa Public Radio and the Des Moines Symphony in kicking off their 2015 broadcast season of Symphonies of Iowa with the DMSO’s “Masterworks 1: Season Debut—The Firebird” concert. 

Armenian pianist Nareh Arghamanyan joins the Des Moines Symphony for a performance of Khachaturian's Piano Concerto.
Credit Julia Wesely

Maestro Joseph Giunta begins the program with Rimsky-Korsakov’s stately and majestic Procession of the Nobles. Guest Armenian pianist Nareh Arghamanyan takes the stage with the orchestra for Khachaturian’s bold and expressive Piano Concerto. The concert concludes with Prokofiev’s “Classical” Symphony No. 1 and Stravinsky’s colorful suite from The Firebird. Tune in for IPR’s launch of another memorable season of Symphonies of Iowa, starting with the Des Moines Symphony on Sunday, January 25, 2015 at 4 p.m. and again on Monday, January 26, 2015 at 7 p.m. on Iowa Public Radio Classical.


Maestro Joseph Giunta,

Nareh Arghamanyan, piano

RIMSKY-KORSAKOV                       Procession of the Nobles

KHACHATURIAN                              Piano Concerto

PROKOFIEV                                        Symphony No. 1 “Classical”

STRAVINSKY                                      Suite from The Firebird (1919)