Iowa Public Radio's Award Winning News Stories

Congratulations to Iowa Public Radio's award-winning news team! This year reporters, hosts, and producers have been recognized for their outstanding work by organizations recognizing excellence and commitment to news, both regionally and nationally. 

Edward R. Murrow Awards:

Given by the Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA), the Edward R. Murrow Award honors outstanding achievements in electronic journalism. Award recipients demonstrate the spirit of excellence that Murrow set as a standard for the profession of electronic journalism.

2015 Regional Awards:
     News Documentary: Behind the Numbers on Your Hospital Bill
     News Series: Harvest Public Media's examination of food waste.
          IPR's Amy Mayer contributed:
               Technology, Infrastructure Reduce Food Waste on the Farm

2014 Regional Awards:
     Reporting: Hard News: HUD Claims Housing Discrimination in Dubuque

2013 Regional Awards:
     News Documentary: The Bonobo Hope Great Ape Trust Sanctuary
     Reporting: Sports: Iowa State University Golf

2012 Regional Awards:
     Audio Feature Reporting: Fish Farming as Alternative Agriculture
     Audio Investigative Reporting: Iowa's Robocalls: Cheap, Easy, Anonymous and Legal
     Audio News Series: Being Muslim in Iowa
     Audio Feature Reporting: Wadena Rocks at 40
     Audio Sports Reporting: Women Wrestlers
     Use of Sound: Audio Letters from Vietnam

2010 Regional Awards:
     Audio Continuing Coverage: The Day the Music Died

Public Radio News Directors Incorporated (PRNDI), June 2014
PRNDI is a non-profit professional association that exists to improve local news and information programming by serving public radio journalists. PRNDI educates, advocates and organizes to promote high standards, ethical principles, and significant public service. Each year, the organization recognizes the best of local public radio news in a wide array of categories, and awards are distributed at their national conference. 

  • “The Crime of Stalking”—Second Place, Call-In Program: IPR’s River to River focuses on the news, issues and events in our state. The program, “The Crime of Stalking,” included the firsthand perspective of a stalking victim, as well as advice from law enforcement professionals and others for reporting and dealing with a stalker. The program was produced by IPR's Ben Kieffer and Sarah Boden. Listen here! 
  • “A Unique Digital Music Service, For Locals Only”—Second Place, Nationally Edited Soft Feature: This story, which was produced by IPR’s Clay Masters, ran nationally on NPR’s All Things Considered. It features the Iowa City Library Local Music Project, which allows local library users to download local music for free and has gained national attention. Listen here!
2012 Awards:

Second Place for Call-in Program:
          The Exchange: Stuttering and The King's Speech
     Second Place for Continuing Coverage:
          Missouri River Flooding
     Second Place for Newscast:
          12/14/2011 7:30am IPR Newscast
     Second Place for Soft Feature:
          The Low Pheasant Population Hurts More than Hunters

2009 Awards:
     Second Place for Call-in Program:
          The Exchange: Karl Rove Visits Iowa City

Jack Shelley Award 2014

All Things Considered host and reporter Pat Blank, 43rd recipient of the Jack Shelley Award. Given by the Iowa Broadcast News Association (IBNA), the Jack Shelley Award is the highest individual honor given in Iowa Broadcast Journalism. This award is given annually to the person with a record of achievement in broadcast journalism in Iowa. The Jack Shelley Award is named for the legendary broadcast journalist who was a WWII war correspondent for the WHO Stations, WHO's News Director, and later, Iowa State University Professor of Journalism.

Eric Sevareid Awards:
Given by the Northwest Broadcast News Association (NBNA), the Eric Sevareid Award recognizes the best work done by broadcast news operations and journalists working in radio, television, and online in small, medium, and large markets in the six-state region that makes up the NBNA.

2014 Awards:
     Large Market Radio Awards for Audio:
          Award of Merit: Iowa / Hungary Percussion Project Debuts in the United States    
     Large Market Radio Awards for Documentary/Special:
          Award of Merit: River to River's Iowa Experiments
          Award of Merit: Talk of Iowa's Crime Victims' Needs
     Large Market Radio Awards for Hard Reporting:
          First Place Award: HUD Claims Housing Discrimination in Dubuque
          Award of Merit: Impact of military spending cuts uneven among Iowa's
                                        defense companies
     Large Market Radio Awards for Soft Feature:
          First Place Award: Refugees find home on the farm

2013 Awards:
     Large Market Radio Awards for Audio:
          First Place Award: Iowa Filmmakers         
          Award of Merit: Trumpeter Swans Rebound
     Large Market Radio Awards for Documentary/Special:
          Award of Merit: Anniversary of Tornado in Joplin
     Large Market Radio Awards for Hard Feature:
          Award of Merit: Outside Spending
     Large Market Radio Awards for Sports Reporting:
          Award of Merit: The Bulldog Behind the Mascot
     Large Market Radio Awards for Investigative Reporting:
          Award of Merit: Mason Contract
     Large Market Radio Awards for Soft Feature:
          Award of Merit: Curbside Bus Service Increased